Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Education and Culture



Minister Aurelia Frick

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Education and Culture


    The Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Education and Culture brings together three thematically related fields in which Liechtenstein presents itself as an active and independent country. Policies in these areas contribute significantly to defining the way the country sees itself.

    The main aims of Liechtenstein's foreign policy are to preserve the country's souverainity and independence as well as to maintain and develop its relations under international law. Foreign policy priorities are relations with neighbouring states, European integration, Liechtenstein's position in trade and as a financial centre, human rights and rule of law as well as international solidarity.

    The Ministry is also responsible for education. The Principality of Liechtenstein has its own successful education system, but for many decades has also cooperated closely with its neighbours Switzerland and Austria in the field of education. The principle aim is to create a modern legal and planning frameowrk to support citizens as they grow and develop in a society that is increasingly characterised by lifelong learning.

    Liechtenstein's cultural policy is centred on the identity of the Principality of Liechtenstein and its inhabitants. The Ministry strives to protect and foster the country's cultural property, which forms an important part of Liechtenstein's understanding of itself as a state and its national identity. The country's many clubs and museums, for which the Ministry is responsible, play a significant role in Liechtenstein's self-image. Cultural projects in and from Liechtenstein are a vibrant expression of the freedom of spirit found in the country.

      • Government
      • Members of Government
      • Adrian Hasler
      • Thomas Zwiefelhofer
      • Marlies Amann-Marxer
      • Mauro Pedrazzini
      • Aurelia Frick
      • Alternate Ministers
      • Ministries
      • Ministry for General Government Affairs and Finance
      • Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Education and Culture
      • Ministry for Social Affairs
      • Ministry for Home Affairs, Justice and Economic Affairs
      • Ministry for Infrastructure, Environment and Sport
      • Government Secretary
      • Law
      • Contact