Diplomatic Representation in Brussels (B)

EEA Financial Mechanism (EEA Grants)

The EEA Financial Mechanism is the common contribution of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway toward the reduction of economic and social disparities within the European Union.

Movie (www.youtube.com)



      This solidarity measure corresponds largely to the EU’s cohesion funds, which are invested by the economically stronger EU Member States into projects implemented in economically disadvantaged European regions. 1.5 billion EUR are made available for the period 2014-2021, Liechtenstein`s contribution is around 1% thereof. The Mission in Brussels represents Liechtenstein in the administrative organs of this programme, which is also known as EEA Grants (https://eeagrants.org/).

      The EEA Grants are based on Memoranda of Understanding with the 15 beneficiary countries: Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Croatia, Cyprus, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Slovenia, Slovakia, Poland, Portugal, and Romania. During these negotiations, the Mission promoted in particular support for activities in the areas of education, culture, migration and good governance. Liechtenstein particularly prioritizes cooperation with the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland and Slovakia.

      Following the conclusion of MoU’s, concrete grants are awarded in the beneficiary countries in accordance with the agreed priorities. Since the EEA Grants are also designed to promote bilateral relations between donor and beneficiary countries, Liechtenstein project partners are also eligible to be supported for joint projects.

      Open calls can be found here. A step-by-step explanation for project partnerships is available here.

      Should you be interested in cooperation in the area of education (available in Czech Republic, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia and Romania) the Liechtenstein Agency for International Education Cooperation (AIBA) could be of assistance in the partner search.

      Also the EEA Grants Coordinator for the area of culture can assist in the partner search for potential projects in the area of culture (available in Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal, Rumania and Slovakia)

      What are the achievements of the EEA Grants so far? Here is an overview.

      The Status Report 2019 with a foreword of the Minister of Foreign Affairs Dr. Eggenberger as well as Ministers of Foreign Affairs from Norway and Iceland can be found here.

      More information on the EEA Grants and Liechtenstein available here.



          The EEA Grants helped finance the Website of the Czech-Liechtenstein Joint Commission of Historians. The research results about the common history of the two countries, as well as information about events held by the Commission, are made public  in both German and  Czech and soon as well in English – thereby contributing to the strengthening of bilateral relations.

          • Government
          • Members of Government
          • Adrian Hasler
          • Daniel Risch
          • Mauro Pedrazzini
          • Dominique Hasler
          • Katrin Eggenberger
          • Alternate Ministers
          • Ministries
          • Ministry of General Government Affairs and Finance
          • Ministry of Infrastructure, Economic Affairs and Sport
          • Ministry of Social Affairs
          • Ministry of Home Affairs, Education and Environment
          • Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Justice and Culture
          • Government Secretary
          • Law
          • Contact