Diplomatic Representation in Brussels (B)

Political Dialogue / Sanctions

Even though the EEA/EFTA States are not part of the EU’s Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP), they closely coordinate their foreign policy with the EU in various areas:

The EEA Agreement provides that the EEA/EFTA States Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway regularly exchange views with the EU on foreign policy issues. These political dialogues take place twice a year on the margins of the EEA Council at ministerial level. In addition, the Mission in Brussels regularly participates in political dialogues at expert level. Specific regions (e.g. Western Balkans, Eastern Europe/Central Asia, Africa) and cooperation in international organisations (e.g. Council of Europe, OSCE) are discussed. The EEA EFTA States are frequently invited to associate themselves with EU declarations on current foreign policy issues – which Liechtenstein regularly does. Liechtenstein’s general support of these declarations illustrates how closely it is aligned with the EU’s fundamental values. Liechtenstein also supports the EU sanctions policy in principle and implements its restrictive measures autonomously within its national legal system.  

The law on the implementation of international sanctions in Liechtenstein can be found here (in German).



  • Government
  • Members of Government
  • Daniel Risch
  • Sabine Monauni
  • Graziella Marok-Wachter
  • Dominique Hasler
  • Manuel Frick
  • Alternate Ministers
  • Ministries
  • Ministry of General Government Affairs and Finance
  • Ministry of Home Affairs, Economy and Environment
  • Ministry of Infrastructure and Justice
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Education and Sport
  • Ministry of Social Affairs and Culture
  • Government Secretary
  • Law
  • Contact