Diplomatic Representation in Brussels (B)

Liechtenstein and the EU – a close partnership

Liechtenstein is not a member of the European Union, but nevertheless closely tied to the EU. Liechtenstein has been part of the European Economic Area (EEA) since 1995 and thus participates in the European Internal Market, including its four freedoms (free movement of goods, capital, services, and persons).  Liechtenstein furthermore participates in the EEA Financial Mechanism (also known as EEA Grants), which supports efforts aimed at reducing economic and social disparities within the EU.  

Since 2011, Liechtenstein has been an associated member of the EU’s Schengen/Dublin system. Due to Schengen, Liechtenstein’s citizens benefit from the elimination of systematic controls at internal Schengen borders. The Dublin system aims at ensuring that asylum applications are processed only in the country of first arrival of the applicant.  

Furthermore, Liechtenstein and the European Union work closely together  in other areas, including tax cooperation and transparency. On 1 January 2016, the bilateral Agreement on the Automatic Exchange of Financial Account Information entered into force.

Every two years, the Council of the European Union assesses the status of the EU’s relations with Liechtenstein. In this context, Liechtenstein also has the opportunity to present its view on these relations. Below are the most recent documents in this regard:


2018: Presentation on Liechtenstein – EU relations

2016: Press release on EU Council conclusions

2016: EU Council conclusions on Liechtenstein – EU relations

2016: Presentation on Liechtenstein – EU relations

  • Government
  • Members of Government
  • Adrian Hasler
  • Daniel Risch
  • Mauro Pedrazzini
  • Dominique Hasler
  • Katrin Eggenberger
  • Alternate Ministers
  • Ministries
  • Ministry of General Government Affairs and Finance
  • Ministry of Infrastructure, Economic Affairs and Sport
  • Ministry of Social Affairs
  • Ministry of Home Affairs, Education and Environment
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Justice and Culture
  • Government Secretary
  • Law
  • Contact