Diplomatic Representation of Washington (USA)

Consular matters

Until further notice, consular functions/affairs will continue to be administered by the consular division of the Swiss Embassy in Washington.

Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA)

Consular representations of Switzerland in the United States:

  • Atlanta
  • Chicago
  • Houston
  • Los Angeles
  • New York
  • San Francisco
  • Boston, MA

Passport and Identity Card

Since 1 July 2013, besides the Migration and Passport Office in Vaduz, applications for Liechtenstein passports and identity cards can only be made at Swiss representations abroad. You can find the competent authority for your place of residence on the following website:


Further information is available from the Migration and Passport Office (Ausländer- und Passamt – „APA“), Städtle 38, FL-9490 Vaduz, Tel. +423 236 61 41 or under the following links:




Requirements for entering Liechtenstein

Switzerland and Liechtenstein generally share the same entry requirements. The provisions concerning persons requiring visas are largely identical. (cf. Ordinance of 9 December 2008 on the procedure of entry and visa, 152.204). These provisions are, however, subject to alterations based on bilateral or multilateral agreements.

Visa requirements for entering Liechtenstein

Individuals requiring a visa may submit an application to the Swiss representation in their country of residence. The decision on the request lies partly with the Swiss authorities and partly with the Immigration and Passport Office. To determine whether you require a visa, please visit www.bfm.admin.ch or check the Liechtenstein Law Gazette LGBl. 2008 No 315.

Entering other countries
If you are interested in the entry requirements for other countries, please consult a travel agency or the embassy of the country you plan to enter.

Staying in Liechtenstein

The following link leads to information on the various possibilities for living in Liechtenstein (with or without employment), in particular the different categories of authorization granted by the Immigration and Passport Office.

    • Government
    • Members of Government
    • Daniel Risch
    • Sabine Monauni
    • Graziella Marok-Wachter
    • Dominique Hasler
    • Manuel Frick
    • Alternate Ministers
    • Ministries
    • Ministry of General Government Affairs and Finance
    • Ministry of Home Affairs, Economy and Environment
    • Ministry of Infrastructure and Justice
    • Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Education and Sport
    • Ministry of Social Affairs and Culture
    • Government Secretary
    • Law
    • Contact