Liechtenstein at a glance

The national anthem of the Principality of Liechtenstein

Originally composed in England in the 17th century, the melody was used around 1800 by 27 countries, principalities and duchies belonging to the Holy Roman Empire of the German Nation, whose members included Liechtenstein. The final version of the words sung to the national anthem was agreed on by the Parliament in 1963. Since then the national anthem has borne the title: "Oben am jungen Rhein" ("Up Above the Young Rhine").

Listen to the national anthem (.mp3)

    The Flag


      The national colours are blue and red. The flag consists of a rectangular cloth loosely affixed to a pole, with two equally wide horizontal bands, blue above, red below. In the blue band near the pole, the Princely Hat is emblazoned in gold.

        Form of government, constitution

        Liechtenstein is a constitutional, hereditary monarchy on a democratic and parliamentary basis; the power of the State is embodied in the Reigning Prince and the People and shall be exercised by both under the conditions set forth in the provisions of this Constitution. (Article 2 of the 1921 Constitution)

        Head of state


          Liechtenstein's head of state is Prince Hans-Adam II von und zu Liechtenstein, Duke of Troppau and Jägerndorf, Count Rietberg. Following the death of his father, Franz Josef II, Hereditary Prince Hans-Adam became Regent as Prince Hans-Adam II on 13 November 1989.

          On 15 August 2004 H.S.H. Prince Hans-Adam II entrusted his son H.S.H. Hereditary Prince Alois as his representative with the exercise of all sovereign rights pertaining to him through the Constitution.


            The Liechtenstein Parliament consists of 25 Members of Parliament. Decisions are taken in plenary sessions. The Parliament is small compared with those of other countries.


            According to the Constitution, the Government is a collegial body consisting of the Prime Minister and four Ministers. The Prime Minister and the Ministers are appointed by the Reigning Prince on the recommendation of Parliament.

            Courts of law

            Civil and criminal cases are heard initially by the Court of Justice, then at second instance by the Court of Appeal and at third and final instance by the Supreme Court. Jurisdiction in cases of public law is exercised by the Administrative Court and the State Court. The courts have their seat in Vaduz.


              Facts and figures


              Almost 38,747 inhabitants, of which 34% are foreigners (mainly Swiss, Austrians, Germans and Italians)

              Standard German is the official language; the colloquial language is an Alemannic dialect

              National Day
              15 August

              Swiss franc
              Euros are generally accepted

              Surface area
              160.0 km² (fourth-smallest state in Europe, after Vatican, Monaco and San Marino)

              Liechtenstein in Figures

                • Government
                • Members of Government
                • Daniel Risch
                • Sabine Monauni
                • Graziella Marok-Wachter
                • Dominique Hasler
                • Manuel Frick
                • Alternate Ministers
                • Ministries
                • Ministry of General Government Affairs and Finance
                • Ministry of Home Affairs, Economy and Environment
                • Ministry of Infrastructure and Justice
                • Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Education and Sport
                • Ministry of Social Affairs and Culture
                • Government Secretary
                • Law
                • Contact